Marius Robyr and Hugo Steinegger are elected honorary members of Swiss-Ski

The two personalities behind the Crans-Montana World Cup ski races and the successful bid for the 2027 Alpine World Ski Championships have been elected honorary members of Swiss-Ski to thunderous applause at the Delegates' Meeting in Bern.

In an impressive eulogy, Swiss-Ski President Urs Lehmann praised Marius Robyr and Hugo Steinegger’s great achievements for snowsports. Thanks to their dedicated commitment and passion, these two skiing legends firstly revived the Crans-Montana events, which had long been absent from the World Cup race calendar, and then consolidated them into a most convincing Classic.

Then came the big push to organise the 2027 World Championships, and thanks to a solid bid dossier and intelligent lobbying, the FIS Council was persuaded to award the 2027 World Championships to Crans-Montana. This comes exactly 40 years after the unforgettable 1987 Alpine World Ski Championships, Switzerland's most successful ever. Marius Robyr and Hugo Steinegger are now leaving things to a younger management team headed by Didier Défago and Daniel Bollinger. However, as honorary presidents of the WC, they will not lose sight of their "life's work". - Our photos by Stephan Bögli show the Annual General Meeting in the Kursaal in Bern, as well as Marius Robyr and Hugo Steinegger being presented their honorary membership.